
THE HIDDEN VALLEY

the quest for the Arch Talisman
Discalimer
The Hidden Valley is a non-commercial fan created expansion to Talisman the Magical Quest Game 
by Games Workshop. The Talisman trademark and all rights belong to Games Workshop.
Images are taken from the internet and self-drawn (I did the board). Any copyright problems, e-mail 
me at tomerix@yahoo.se and I will remove your work or give you credit for it.

Thanx
As always very special thanks to Talisman guru Jon New for help with computer technicalities and 
inspiration.
 
Content
1 Hidden Valley board
1 rules sheet...(you´re reading it...)
3 Arch Talisman cards
4 Adventure cards
Mercenary cards
Hidden Valley cards
Cardbacks, for you to make your own cards to this set
 
Set up
Place the Hidden Valley (hereafter called the HV) board close to the main board. Put the HV 
Adventure deck and the Mercenary deck on the indicated spaces.
 
The use of the Arch Talisman rule is optional. You may use the HV simply as a new land to explore. In 
that case, remove the AT card from the HV deck and ignore the AT rules.
 
The Legend
Long ago, when the Wizard´s reign crumbled and he knew the end was near, he sought a way to 
escape complete disaster and make possible a return to power. In some dark and evil way, he 
succeeded.
Crossing into the shadowrealm he found means to fly death and dwell in a misty non-life, non-death 
existance. He crafted his remaining life force in four of the magical Talismans needed to enter his 
domain, and scattered them around the vast land. One of them, legend says, was cast into a valley 
that was then bewildered and forgotten. Though more than a thousand years have passed since, the 
legend can´t seem to fade. As hard as it is to find, keep and use the lesser Talismans, aquiring the 
Arch Talisman (AT) would be a quest for a true champion. However, what will happen if the pieces are 
found and assembled? Whispering stories are too dark to tell...
 
The 4 pieces of the Arch Talisman
One of the pieces of the Arch Talisman is located among the HV cards.
Where the other 3 are noone knows. When a player aquires a Talisman, roll 1d6. on a 6 it is an Arch 
Talisman. Players that start the game with a Spell need only a 5-6.
Then take 1 AT card instead and discard the other one, which cannot be drawn again! Take it out of 
the game. We do not want an inflation of Talismans! 

If all 4 AT cards are in play, do not do this anymore. These are the ones, and every other Talisman is 
a normal one. 
 
The Wizard reincarnates
When a player has aquired all 4 parts of the AT the Wizard returns from the shadowrealm and attacks 
you. He has Strength 10, Craft 10 and starts the fight by casting a Fireball Strength 7 at you.
 
The Cross can not be used.
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If you win the two fights (don´t count the Fireball) the Wizard is forever destroyed and you can take the 
AT card. See the card for instructions. You can only lose 1 Life in total even if you lose both fights, but 
2 Lives if you also lost to the Fireball.
 
If the Wizard wins, the land must suffer a new and terrible reign. He goes to the Crown of Command 
space (put the AT card there) and starts casting Command Spells!!! At the beginning of the player´s 
turn who assembled the AT, roll a Command Spell dice roll as normal. If all the players are killed the 
game is over and the evil Wizard will rule the land for all eternity. Good job, you meatpackers!!!
 
If there is already a player on the CoC space when the Wizard gets there, there will be a fight as 
described above.If the player loses, he loses all his Lives at once and all his belongings are discarded. 
Then the Wizard starts casting Command Spells.

Other Talismans
Talismans that are not AT work as normal.
 
Entering the Valley
There are a few ways to enter the board.
a) When a player lands on the HV space in the Middle Region he is moved to the Steep space 
indicated on the HV board. 
b) If you are in the Woods space in the Outer Region and enter the Valley by a Raft, you land on 
Moonlight Lake and must then go towards Steep 2.
c) If you are teleported or enter for other reasons, roll 1d6. 1-3: land on Steep 1, 
4-6: land on Steep 2.
 
Movement in the Valley
In the HD, movement is restricted to half. 
1-2: move 1 space
3-4: move 2 spaces
5-6: move 3 spaces.
Horses and other Objects or Spells that may add movement can do so but only 1 extra space per turn 
under any circumstances. If you use the Horse you must leave Followers behind as normal.
 
Direction
When you are in the Valley you cannot change directions but must go in the direction first 
indicated. You may use teleport Spells as normal, but when you move again next time you must 
continue in the same direction as before.
 
Leaving the Valley
a) The normal way to leave is by reaching the Steep space you´ve been moving towards. Even if you 

have movement left, stop at the Steep and encounter it. On your next move, roll the die as normal 
and start counting from either the Hills or Black Knight.

 
b) You may leave from spaces on the board as indicated there.
 
c) You may leave via encouters on the HV cards as indicated there.
 
You may NOT leave by using a teleport spell, you can only teleport within the HV.

Region
The HV is a part of the Middle Region for all purpuses, except no Plague or other sickness Event 
affects characters there.
It is a Region of its own concerning Teleports as mentioned above; you cannot Teleport your way out 
of the HV.
 
The Mercenaries
These fiercly figthing fellows bring a new sense of battle into the game. A player can hire as many 
Mercenaries he can afford, but only one at a time. Each one has his or her special ability that will aid 
you when the going get tough.



The Mercenary Camp
Feel free to make more copies of the Mercenary Camp card to use with other expansions. 
 
The Mercenary Character
If you are using multiple boards, feel free to decide one space on each board where he can take a 
Mission. For example the Old City on the Harem board.
 
If there is any loot on an Enemy when the Mercenary has defeated it when taking a Mission (Ability 2) 
he cannot take it for himself, he only gains the 1G for accepting the Mission and another 1G if he wins 
the fight, and of course, the experience points.

He gains a 1G discount when purchasing items at the Mercenary Castle, Fortress and the Armoury in 
the City.


